Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Going to buy some maples to trunk chop

5 posters

Go down

Going to buy some maples to trunk chop Empty Going to buy some maples to trunk chop

Post  Glaucus Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:16 am

While I have read a lot of what I can find on the net, I am new to bonsai. I have been given the idea that trunk chopping maples is a good point to start with. I don't want to buy expensive bonsai. I want to create new ones. I expect it to take 20 to 30 years. I want a good quality end product.

I live in a rural area in the Netherlands so there are several nurseries that are probably small compared to the standards in some country. There is Esveld with the largest maple garden in the world(they believe), but that is on the other side of the country. I am a student, don't have a car and I am cheap.
This means selection is going to be small.

So the main rule of bonsai is supposed to be that the height should be 6 times the diameter of the trunk. A 35 cm
high tree sounds like a good idea. That means the trunk I buy should be about 6 cm thick. That isn't too big. But I do wonder how tall and how expensive such a tree will be.
Next is good root flare, natural movement and taper. Nebari will likely be absent, but root flare I can't see even if it is there, right? Natural movement and taper I also don't have hopes for finding.
Maybe I should also buy something that has a trunk still thin enough to wire?

Next question is, how low do I trunk chop? Say I have my 6 cm thick tree that is going to be 35 cm high, should I chop it at 11 cm? That is quite low. How low is still possible?
There is also another way to do a trunk chop. Buy the same tree, cut it off at 20 cm. Then 20 cm will be 1/3rd. So tree in total will be 60cm. So I need to grow the trunk to 10 cm before I do a second trunk chop at 40 cm?