New guy with questions

View previous topic View next topic Go down

New guy with questions

Post  mikeb210 on Fri Feb 11, 2011 5:42 pm

Hello all. I've been keeping planted aquariums for around 5 years and I understand the basics of pruning and controlling growth, but I'm lost when it comes to where to start. I guess I'll just give my ideas and then you more knowledgeable folks could weigh in and tell me where I'm wrong. I'll put my questions in parenthesis.

I plan to collect a tree locally as it seems they would be best equipped to deal with the climate here in North Carolina. I've found an area near my home where lots of sapling pines are growing, around 4' tall and maybe 1-2" diameter trunks. I'm not sure about a species, is there a great difference between species living in the same region as far as requirements go?

(What needs to happen to transistion a tree from growing in the woods to growing in a pot on my deck?)

I'm planning to use Flourite aquarium substrate as my soil because I have lots of it available and can't afford to buy a bonsai-specific substrate.

(How long after taking the tree from the woods should I wait to begin cutting it down?)

(When is the best season for digging up, transplanting and trunk cutting a tree?)

(I've got a lot of dry NPK fertilizer from my aquariums, would that be acceptable fertilizer for the tree also?)

Sorry for a long post and so many questions and thank you for taking the time to help.

Regards,

Mike

mikeb210

Back to top Go down

Re: New guy with questions

Post  Guest on Fri Feb 11, 2011 5:46 pm

Hi Mike

You need to buy a beginners book on the subject of bonsai. I am sure you will find many of your answers there. It will take a long time to explain these question thoroughly to you here (for me at least). And one question will lead to another, so better get that book Very Happy

Books are available at local bonsai stores, or at the internet. Try www.stonelantern.com/Bonsai_Books_s/35.htm e.g.

cheers
Morten