Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Grinder or dremel?

+10
tuyhoabob
Arno
gman
JimLewis
-Brent-
Ravi Kiran
Bruce Winter
jrodriguez
Razvan Savin
Pola
14 posters

Go down

Grinder or dremel? Empty Grinder or dremel?

Post  Pola Thu Jan 20, 2011 5:43 pm

Hi guys!
I need help from you experienced carvers. All my trees are small,and adding some dead wood on some of them would be nice. The problem is i don't know if a dremel would be enough,since i have no experience doing it. Jins,uros and the like...would a dremel be apropiate for this type of work on small trees?
Thanks!
Pola
Pola

Back to top Go down

Grinder or dremel? Empty Re: Grinder or dremel?

Post  Razvan Savin Thu Jan 20, 2011 6:02 pm

Hi Pola!
For small trees (up to 50cm in height) a dremel would suffice, as it is generally smaller than a grinder and you can more easily reach inner spots with it.
The downside is that on bigger trees, while not useless in it's entirely, it will take you a long time to carve the wood. From my experience, a dremel is useful for areas smaller than the palm of your hand. Anything bigger, and you would benefit from a grinder.
But that's just my 2 cents Smile

Best of luck!
Razvan Savin
Razvan Savin

Back to top Go down

Post  Pola Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:18 pm

Thank you Razvan!
Pola
Pola

Back to top Go down

Post  jrodriguez Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:24 pm

Pola,

For an alternative to the use of electrical tools, go to our site: www.sidiao.com

Kind regards,

Jose Luis
jrodriguez
jrodriguez

Back to top Go down

Post  Bruce Winter Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:18 pm

I was about to replace my old dremel when I found that Black and Decker makes a similar tool with more power at about 1/2 the price. Both on amazon.

Bruce Winter

Back to top Go down

Post  Ravi Kiran Fri Jan 21, 2011 4:01 am

Hi Bruce,

can you pls share the exact page on amazon for the Black & Decker tools. I could not locate the same Sad

Ravi