Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Bonsai coldframe-greenhouse

+3
JimLewis
Billy M. Rhodes
杰遨-jie
7 posters

Go down

Bonsai coldframe-greenhouse Empty Bonsai coldframe-greenhouse

Post  杰遨-jie Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:06 am

Hello dear friends, Im new to this forum and I wasnt too sure about where to post this but here it goes^^
I currently live in MN and I will be moving to NC sometime soon.I have a small collection of decent tree's and some are not winter hardy so I winter them over at my teachers bonsai nursery here...I am planning on building a coldframe-greenhouse in NC just in case there is a freak winter and the temp drops too much...I have never built a coldframe before and Im 17 years old and have to keep it in budget(parents budget) Evil or Very Mad My teacher told me about PVC pipes and plastic covering but from what I found on the net it said that too much snow can collapse it to the ground Shocked His coldframe is metal and PVC pipe i think and its extremely sturdy and really big!...well should I build it part pvc and wood or just pvc or just wood?...hmm Im alittle lost scratch thanks for taking time to read this lol!

jie
杰遨-jie
杰遨-jie

Back to top Go down

Bonsai coldframe-greenhouse Empty Re: Bonsai coldframe-greenhouse

Post  Billy M. Rhodes Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:49 am

Where in NC? The snow load for an area can be found on the Internet, but some parts of NC don't get much.
If you make it with a curved shape and there is any heat inside at all, the snow should melt off.
I lived on the South East Coast of NC and never saw snow. Our daughter lives in Chapel Hill (center of the state) and gets some and of course the Western Mountains get the most.
Billy M. Rhodes
Billy M. Rhodes

Back to top Go down

Post  杰遨-jie Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:44 pm