what would you do with this stone?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

what would you do with this stone?

Post  NeilDellinger on Mon Sep 06, 2010 2:13 pm

Hello all, This is a nice stone I received as a gift from a friend. Let me know what you would do. All views are within the same little stone. If I did cut it, I'd lose a couple nice views. So, if you would cut then where? If not, how would you display? I'm pretty new to the whole suiseki thing. Thank you for looking!!

NeilDellinger

Back to top Go down

Re: what would you do with this stone?

Post  irene_b on Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:03 pm

Pic 4 or 6...And don't cut the stone...
(all 6 photos)

irene_b

Back to top Go down

Post  Billy M. Rhodes on Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:47 pm

You could make a number of different stands that fit the stone in each display mode, then you could change the stone to suit your mood.

Or, you could use a bed of small gravel or large sand and do the same.

Billy M. Rhodes

Back to top Go down

Post  Chris Cochrane on Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:05 pm

Hi... Mine is a suggestion, Neil. Don't take it as gospel as few suggestions will be. When you get much below 4" in length, perhaps you don't have to worry about suiseki guidance. You can clearly perceive landscapes from the views shown, & the stone could be large enough to perceive as a credible suiseki. In reality, it is a bit too small for suiseki landscape views, which should be primary display objects, even when on a shohin stand. It is a good example for learning & sharing.