Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Scale on pines/junipers

3 posters

Go down

Scale on pines/junipers Empty Scale on pines/junipers

Post  Dave Murphy Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:35 pm

Hi Nina,
It's great to be able to consult with someone with your expertise. I was a Botany major in college and have been a lifelong plant freak, but now I take care of animals for a living. Anyway, I have had an ongoing issue with scale on several of my pine and juniper bonsai. The scale itself appears to be running rampant here in SE Massachusetts. What is your prefered method of dealing with this pest. I've used dormant oil and isotox with mixed results. Thanks for any advice,

Dave

Dave Murphy

Back to top Go down

Scale on pines/junipers Empty Re: Scale on pines/junipers

Post  Nina Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:37 pm

Are these the same scales on juniper and pine? Or just "generic" scales on both juniper and pine? I'm asking because using my favorite book, "Insects that feed on trees and shrubs" by Warren T. Johnson and Howard H. Lyons, I don't see any overlap between the scales on these two trees. While it's easy to give you general scale advice, there are times when a particular species of scale might be more difficult to treat than normal, due to, say, an especially waxy body, or due to acquisition of resistance to pesticides.