Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Advice re. Water Jasmine?

3 posters

Go down

Advice re. Water Jasmine? Empty Advice re. Water Jasmine?

Post  sairarias Sun Jun 06, 2010 1:54 am

Hi everyone!

Disclaimer: I'm a newbie *waves*. Hence the absolute lack of knowledge on how to proceed.

I got this water jasmine about a month ago. I've mostly just focused on keeping it alive while I read every book on bonsai I can find at the public libraries but now I'd kind of like to do something with it (or at least starting to figure out what I want to do with it!)

I know it's really difficult to make out the shape of the branches and such with all the leaves in the way -- which is part of my problem. Ideally I'd like to ask you all for advice on how to style it, but I'm not sure you can see enough of the tree for that Sad So, before I try and pick your brains about styling it, I'd like your advice about defoliating it, namely, whether I should.

Any and all advice would be incredibly welcome! And rewarded with virtual cupcakes.

Saira

Advice re. Water Jasmine? 10-05-10

sairarias

Back to top Go down

Advice re. Water Jasmine? Empty Water jasmine

Post  bonsaisr Sun Jun 06, 2010 2:20 am

The broken record squawks.
Get it into a big shallow pot in coarse bonsai soil & let it grow over the summer. Then ask about styling.
Iris
bonsaisr
bonsaisr

Back to top Go down

Advice re. Water Jasmine? Empty Re: Advice re. Water Jasmine?

Post  zooloo10 Sun Jun 06, 2010 3:02 am

DISCLAIMER*(i feel i should warn you i am also a newb) that's exactly what i was going to say iris. looks like you've got a pretty solid trunk. i like the out reaching branch, once that branch thickens up that is definately going to be one of the branches you should keep, i think.

Advice re. Water Jasmine? Ficus_10

1) a rotation of the plant picture would be nice so i could see that branch/trunk.