Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What is Shohin and what restrictions are there.

5 posters

Go down

What is Shohin and what restrictions are there. Empty What is Shohin and what restrictions are there.

Post  darky Sun Apr 04, 2010 6:50 am

Hi all I have a question that has been asked of me which I find I cannot answer with any conviction.

Although I have been growing Shohin and Mame for about 10 years now. I have always been led to believe that Ishizuki ( root over and root on rock );
are generally not accepted as, to be allowed on the display with other Shohin.

Why is this? I have three, two are on rock, I can understand these being excluded, as the rock they sit on is to tall. The one that is root over rock is under 170mm ( 6 and a half inches ) from the rim of the pot. Including the pot it measures 210mm ( 8 and one quarter of an inch ), so if any one can enlighten me I would be very grateful.

Darky

darky

Back to top Go down

What is Shohin and what restrictions are there. Empty Re: What is Shohin and what restrictions are there.

Post  JimLewis Sun Apr 04, 2010 1:51 pm

I've never heard that restriction. I don't pay too much attention to exact size definitions for either shohin or mame. It is more the feeling or image the plants give as to which classification might be assigned -- if you must classify, that is.

If I can sit a tree and pot on the palm of my hand. It is a shohin in my book. If I can sit two of them on my palm, they're both probably mame. Beyond that I don't really fret about it -- I leave that to people who are more uptight about those kinds of things than I am.

My only size definition I pay attention to these days is that if I can't lift it easily, I don't grow it.
JimLewis
JimLewis

Back to top Go down

What is Shohin and what restrictions are there. Empty Re: What is Shohin and what restrictions are there.

Post  AlainK Sun Apr 04, 2010 2:05 pm