Possible Move to Texas - Need your thoughts

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Possible Move to Texas - Need your thoughts

Post  Jay R on Wed Dec 09, 2009 3:27 pm

Greetings to All and May your Holidays be wonderful and full of Good Health!

I am one of those members who have come on board after the loss of BonsaiTalk. I have been reading and trying not to put my ‘two cents’ in until I have something worthy of a post. I now need the advice and thoughts of those knowledgeable with relocation.

As information to those who are not familiar with me or my trees, I have been enjoying Bonsai for over ten years. My love for Bonsai is far greater than my ability. I am retired and presently live in northern Vermont, zone 3b (fall through spring). I moved to Vermont 5 years ago and had problems with many of my trees adjusting to the change to zone 3b from zone 5b.

My family is discussing a major move. If it occurs I will be moving to the Austin/Georgetown area of Texas. This move is still uncertain but has gained steam lately. If this move does occur I would be in Texas from approximately mid October through mid to late May. During the summer months I would still live in the northern Adirondacks’ in New York (zone 3b but only for the summer).

After this long and winded introduction, my question is:
From the list below, which trees should I find new homes for before I make this move, Again wintering in Texas (zone 8ish) and then summering in New York (zone 4ish)?

Maples….. Trident, Japanese, and Amur
Hornbeam…. Korean
White Cedar…. Thuja Occidentalis
Apple…. Crab and Malus Indian Magic
Larch
Birch…. White
Boxwood… Buxus Microphylla Koreana Nana
Blueberry….. Vaccinium Tophat (Blue Betty)
Spruce

Thanks for your thoughts
Jay in limbo

Jay R

Back to top Go down

Re: Possible Move to Texas - Need your thoughts

Post  EdMerc on Wed Dec 09, 2009 6:27 pm