Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Large Collected Garden Yew

+6
john blanchard
TonyRoch
Kevin S - Wisco Bonsai
Thomas Urban
yamasuri
ydde72183
10 posters

Go down

Large Collected Garden Yew Empty Large Collected Garden Yew

Post  ydde72183 Tue Sep 18, 2018 3:41 am

I found this large yew on craiglist for free! Someone just wanted it removed from their yard so I jumped at the chance. This is my first time digging up a large bush for bonsai stock and it was a lot harder than I had expect. I definitely earned this one!! I wasn't going to dig it up but then I found the curvy beautiful trunk line hidden in the back. I only removed what I was sure I wouldn't be using and also what I needed to remove in order to fit into my car. The foliage is all concentrated on the tips of the branches. I have planted and secured it in a large pot with pretty decent draining soil (cactus soil from Home Depot) It was the best I could find in a pinch.

Now, I just hope that it survives. I'm a little worried because of the time of year I collected it. I live in Hoboken New Jersey and winter is not too far. It seemed to have a good deal of feeder roots and I kept as many as I could. As tempted as I am to prune it back, I want to keep some green on the branches as to not kill it. Further down the road, I'm sure I will need to pick up some power tools and learn some deadwood carving techniques on this big guy. if anyone has any advice on having a yew collected in September survive a winter and then back bud and thrive, I would appreciated it.

Large Collected Garden Yew Img_4715
Large Collected Garden Yew Img_4713
Large Collected Garden Yew Img_4714
Large Collected Garden Yew Img_4716
ydde72183
ydde72183

Back to top Go down

Large Collected Garden Yew Empty Re: Large Collected Garden Yew

Post  yamasuri Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:59 am