New to Bonsai

View previous topic View next topic Go down

New to Bonsai

Post  Luisvillalobos on Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:38 pm

Hi, my name is Luis, i live in mesa, arizona.
I am really interested in beggining a bonsai, but i have no real knowledge of
it at the moment. But i wanted to see if you guys could at least give me a
head start, for example, tell me what trees are suitable for this part of the
country (hottest temp: 115F, lowest: 40F), wether to choose ceramic or
plastic pots, and what kind of substrate and wire is best.
Obviously i am going to check out a couple books and look at sites in
the internet, but its always nice to have someone whit knowledge give you
live advice, and be able to interact and respond, instead of just reading
the book to yourself.
Im really looking forward to your comments and to hopefully soon start
a my project.
Thanks.

Luisvillalobos

Back to top Go down

Re: New to Bonsai

Post  David Brunner on Thu Dec 03, 2009 6:58 pm

Hello Luis - Welcome to IBC!

Bonsai in the desert can be a challenge but it can be done and is very rewarding. Because much of the advice you will find in books will be directed to those in cooler, moister climates, I suggest you start with contacting your local bonsai club. You are fortunate to have a great one in your area, the Phoenix Bonsai Society. They mantain an excellent website, one portion of which is a list of species suitable for bonsai culture in the Sonoran Desert. Here is a link to it: http://www.phoenixbonsai.com/PPlants.html

Wishing all the best in your new bonsai ventures,
David Brunner

David Brunner

Back to top Go down

New to Bonsai

Post  bonsaisr on Thu Dec 03, 2009 8:49 pm