Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to Bonsai, new to this group - Growing from a cutting

4 posters

Go down

New to Bonsai, new to this group - Growing from a cutting Empty New to Bonsai, new to this group - Growing from a cutting

Post  AdamJesney Wed Jun 17, 2015 1:07 pm

Hi all,

I am new to all this, but really want to try growing something from seed as this year I will be having my first child and thought it would be nice to have a tree that is the same age as my upcoming family addition.

I am lucky enough to live in a house with a very large Conker tree out the back of my garden which year after year gives me many new saplings. This year I have collected a few of them and put them in pots. I am down to just 2 now as others didnt like to be moved. I also managed to find a tiny Oak sapling, but I think this is dieing (I will persevere with it a little while longer) and I have also taken a cutting from my Privet Hedge which seems to be doing well - Lots of new buds have sprouted on this.

So, firstly the Conkers. I have been looking online and have come to realise that these are not the easiest to grow, but, I have them for free so I cant complain. What is best to do with these? Just let them do their thing for a couple of years and then cut them back?

The Oak I am just going to leave alone.

The Privet, I am thinking that I just leave this to grow this year as it is a cutting? The trunk is about 1cm thick I guess and about 8cm high with a bend in the middle. Then in Autumn maybe cut it back to two leaves?

Any advice is greatly welcomed.

Adam

AdamJesney

Back to top Go down

New to Bonsai, new to this group - Growing from a cutting Empty Re: New to Bonsai, new to this group - Growing from a cutting

Post  Precarious Wed Jun 17, 2015 11:26 pm