Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Looking for direction with a juniper

4 posters

Go down

Looking for direction with a juniper Empty Looking for direction with a juniper

Post  Welldur Fri Apr 10, 2015 2:41 am

You will have to excuse me if I refer to something by the wrong name or terminology, I am very new to tending a bonsai. That said, I'm looking for a little direction or otherwise helpful suggestions that could be given to someone just starting.

This tree was sold to me as a five to six year old Japanese Juniper and I bought it as it is represented. The only difference being that I've placed it on top of a larger pot. I don't plan on this being permanent but I thought it might be worth mentioning, in case it could somehow be detrimental.

The pot that it came in, which I plan on changing next year, has one hole in the bottom and a rock mostly blocking the hole. Water drains through the hole with no issues, but I was wondering if there was some logic to placing a rock there? From what I understand, I will need to fertilize every two weeks and whatever I use should be high in nitrogen. Also, I'm finding that watering occurs more "as needed" than on a schedule.

Pruning and pinching are big question marks for me at the moment because I don't really have any sort of experience gardening and I worry that I'm going to run in to some difficulties at first. I think for now my best course of action will be to just observe but I would love to know which tools I should be acquiring and any resources on techniques would be greatly appreciated.

The day I brought it home:
Looking for direction with a juniper 2FD2C066-6BF5-4C99-BBF0-BB46A8E216D3_zpsfrgnnill

A week later:
Looking for direction with a juniper 6631EB8A-3713-4FFA-9303-1BFA66243890_zps4em3ni5b
Looking for direction with a juniper 39D1AF62-8947-4EA8-BD3A-2AE47FC2D5EF_zpstmy6a5jw