Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

To carve or NOT to carve... This.is.the.question

+4
JimLewis
BobbyLane
Richard S
BonsaiDil
8 posters

Go down

To carve or NOT to carve... This.is.the.question Empty To carve or NOT to carve... This.is.the.question

Post  BonsaiDil Sat Mar 07, 2015 12:57 am

Hi guys! I'm new to bonsai (5 months) and I have acquired this maple about 2 weeks ago. I love the natural hollow on this tree and the tapering and movement is pretty amazeballzzzz (I think) !!!LOL The picture below is after I've re-potted, pruned and wired the tree. I know not to touch this tree (carving) until maybe next Spring or the Spring after next to let it settle in its new pot but I was wondering what you guys thought about making the hollow higher (to the second cut wound) in the future? My main focus for this year is growing the branches out (specially on the right) and I'm hoping that it will back-bud on the areas that I need it to, but if not then I would be doing some grafting. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

To carve or NOT to carve... This.is.the.question Bare10

Second and third image is a virtual image of what I have planned for this tree to look in the future. One with it's current hollow and the second with the hollow extended.

To carve or NOT to carve... This.is.the.question Plan210
To carve or NOT to carve... This.is.the.question Img_1410

This is how the tree looked the day I took it home.
To carve or NOT to carve... This.is.the.question Fullsi10
BonsaiDil
BonsaiDil

Back to top Go down

To carve or NOT to carve... This.is.the.question Empty Re: To carve or NOT to carve... This.is.the.question

Post  Richard S Sat Mar 07, 2015 8:02 am

Nice tree! Lots of character in that trunk. I like it and you've done a good job of initial styling.