Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

My next project...

5 posters

Go down

My next project... Empty My next project...

Post  Guest Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:44 pm

Here is a sketch of my next project, a Tray Landscape I believe... (over the winter in my garage).

A Mount Fuji likeness viewed from a distance with forest grouping, groupings in the foreground comprised of Cryptomeria (Japanese Cedar) and Juniper Procumbens, and forest ground covers of some sort...

Finding the right rock and getting it to look like Fuji could present a real problem for an authentic look...???

Any and all comments welcomed...

Rough sketch I am not an artist...

Chuck

My next project... Sketch10

Back to top Go down

My next project... Empty Re: My next project...

Post  RKatzin Fri Sep 19, 2014 2:40 pm

Great idea Bolero, but I'm having trouble with proportion with it all on one piece. A rock that size will leave little room for twenty some trees. I think the way to do this would be to break it up into seperate pieces. Have your trees on the platter and a suiseki rock in the background and some accents of small grasses or such.

These are very difficult to put together. Every factor must be in proportion or it throws everything out of whack. Each of the twenty trees must be proportionate in itself and in proportion to the other nineteen trees and all in accord with the mountain. Gets my brain all fuzzy just thinking about it.

This is my own infatuation. I want to do one of these very much. I have tried several times over the years and although many thought they were pretty neat, I was personally very dissatisfied both with the construction and also the future prospects of the creations.