Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Quince air-layer

4 posters

Go down

Quince air-layer  Empty Quince air-layer

Post  robo. Fri Jun 20, 2014 7:43 pm

Hi, this is my first post here, so I'll say a few words about me.
My name is Razvan and I'm from Romania, a country where very few people are doing bonsai.
This is my second year since I started growing different species of trees, so, I'm a beginner.

My question is about an air-layer on a Quince (aprox. 4 years old, 3-4cm diameter). I started it on the 2nd of May.
One month later, roots started to appear through the plastic bag. On the 19th of June I separated it.

Quince air-layer  14454405321_7df0e80d4b_s Quince air-layer  14271171750_3afd7f67c3_s  Quince air-layer  14271175470_2c55cf7131_s Quince air-layer  14434666586_a7d4d30516_s Quince air-layer  14477933693_171952d61a_s Quince air-layer  14434665046_7d08835f18_s
(Click on the images to see them in larger size)

Why did the roots grow from those spots instead of growing from the callous tissue ?
This thing also happened to the parent tree, which was airlayered from a bigger quince last summer. It only formed two roots above the callous.

robo.

Back to top Go down

Quince air-layer  Empty Re: Quince air-layer

Post  JimLewis Fri Jun 20, 2014 9:36 pm

You want the upper half to root. That's where they're supposed to form.
JimLewis
JimLewis

Back to top Go down

Post  robo. Fri Jun 20, 2014 9:56 pm

I'm sorry but you misunderstood my point.
I know they are supposed to form on the upper half of the air-layer, but i also know that roots are more likely to form from the callous tissue (the one above the cut) than directly from the bark.

So I was wondering what could have prevented the roots from emerging  from the callous tissue, and instead, forming directly on the bark above it.

I didn't use rooting hormone.

robo.

Back to top Go down