Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Sun-scorched azalea

3 posters

Go down

Sun-scorched azalea Empty Sun-scorched azalea

Post  CityofTrees Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:47 pm

Hello all, I am very new to bonsai but not new to growing plants and have been studying feverishly and reading as much as I can. I have bought far too many plants far too quickly, all still in the training/development stage ranging from 1-5 gallon pots. One small plant I have in a one-gallon pot is one of my favorites (all are my favorite of course), a satzuki azalea "ron kuzon" it already has very beautiful small dark green glossy leaves and small pink flowers that seem very fitting for bonsai. It also has some very nice nebari characteristics that I was glad to find at the nursery while digging around the topsoil with my finger bounce Needless to say I was pretty disappointed when after being gone for a week (had my friend take care of my plants) to come back and find my little azalea with all it's leaves brown and dry and the container feeling like almost nothing.

So I'm wondering, how do I save my little azalea? I don't know if it dried out and that's why the leaves died, or if I left it in too much direct sunlight. I can post some pics if needed, basically all leaf growth is brown and dead dry. I picked most of it off and now I think I should cut it back a little bit to promote growth. Is this what I should do? Or just leave it? How much should I cut off? Do you guys think it's dead already or probably living? Thanks for any help!!

CityofTrees

Back to top Go down

Sun-scorched azalea Empty Re: Sun-scorched azalea

Post  0soyoung Thu Jun 19, 2014 5:58 pm

If it isn't dead, it will send out some new sprouts - just don't let it go bone dry again.