Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

John Naka and Bamboo

4 posters

Go down

John Naka and Bamboo Empty John Naka and Bamboo

Post  DougB Fri Jun 13, 2014 5:47 pm

I was recently paging through Naka's 2nd book and noticed that he devoted several pages to bamboo. He even listed several species that were good for bonsai. I was wondering if anyone had bamboo bonsai, the species and source for young plants.
DougB
DougB

Back to top Go down

John Naka and Bamboo Empty this lengthy post is what happens when one is avoiding mowing the lawn.

Post  Leo Schordje Sat Jun 14, 2014 7:22 pm

I have been growing bamboo for many years as a landscape plant. I have 7 or so species that are winter hardy north of Chicago. There are a lot of people growing bamboo in the US, and I regularly see dwarf varieties used as accent plants at the August show of the Midwest Bonsai Society at Chicago Botanic Garden. Much less frequently, I've seen one of the larger species displayed as the focal point of the display. Jack Douthitt has a nice round of roughly 3 foot tall black bamboo that he occasionally shows.