You who live in the Northern parts of North America, how did your Bonsai overwinter -2014, Brutal Winter

Page 1 of 4 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

You who live in the Northern parts of North America, how did your Bonsai overwinter -2014, Brutal Winter

Post  Gary Swiech on Mon May 19, 2014 3:49 pm

Hello,

I've been practicing bonsai for 38 years and this past Winter had a prolonged period of below 0ºF. Even though I overwinter in a shelter that I try to keep at 28ºF, I experienced

damage on many of my bonsai due to the cold. Have any others experienced this?

The fine branches on my Trident maples, Zelkova and Field maples have died back and I'm waiting to see what's alive and what isn't. I know it happens from time to time but was simply

wondering if anyone is in the same situation with some winter injury.

TIA

Gary Swiech

Back to top Go down

Re: You who live in the Northern parts of North America, how did your Bonsai overwinter -2014, Brutal Winter

Post  Tom Simonyi on Mon May 19, 2014 4:19 pm

Hi, Gary: I am sorry to hear that. This past winter for me was one of the worst that I have experienced in recent memory regarding bonsai. I have been doing bonsai for about 28 years and this year have incurred the loss of three-fourths of my temperate trees....the only two survivors at this point seem to be a korean hornbeam and a virginia pine.

Very tough indeed....my location is in northern West Virginia about 80 miles south of Pittsburgh, Pa.....

I will be interested in hearing from others. Thanks for your post.

Best regards,
Tom

Tom Simonyi

Back to top Go down

Re: You who live in the Northern parts of North America, how did your Bonsai overwinter -2014, Brutal Winter

Post  JimmyZ on Mon May 19, 2014 4:28 pm

I've been growing and training bonsai for over 30 years as well and suffered 50% loss with this past NY winter. Truly heartbreaking considering the time and effort spent on these trees.

Best wishes,
Jimmy Z