Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Fertilizing after repotting

+11
PeacefulAres
Marco Giai-Coletti
0soyoung
Alain Bertrand
Stan Kengai
Brunsai
brett2013
arihato
giga
JimLewis
chadley999
15 posters

Go down

Fertilizing after repotting Empty Fertilizing after repotting

Post  chadley999 Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:07 pm

About how long should i wait after re-potting to start fertilizing again?

chadley999

Back to top Go down

Fertilizing after repotting Empty Re: Fertilizing after repotting

Post  JimLewis Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:11 pm

I've been fertilizing in the first watering for nearly 40 years now. Go half strength if you worry about the nonsense about fertilizer "burning" newly cut roots.

I'm sure many other "experts" will disagree; myth is hard to destroy.
JimLewis
JimLewis

Back to top Go down

Post  giga Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:23 pm

I fertalize right after potting with organic fertalizers, trees are growing fine. No wilting or burning of any kind
giga
giga

Back to top Go down

Post  chadley999 Wed Apr 09, 2014 8:35 pm

I ordered some green dream over the winter. I'm not so worried about the organic stuff, just on my indoor plants i use water soluble to keep them cleaner. I'll use half strength on them next time i re-pot one, thanks Exclamation 

chadley999

Back to top Go down

Post  arihato Thu Apr 10, 2014 12:36 am

I fertilise after three to four weeks after repot.
I'm not afraid to burn the roots as I feed with organic fertiliser. I feel it benefits the tree/root system to have to search for food the first couple of weeks.
arihato
arihato

Back to top Go down

Post  brett2013 Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:00 am