Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Colorado Blue Spruce-- worth it? (pics)

+4
Twisted Trees
bonsaisr
Auballagh
madonnaswimmer
8 posters

Go down

Colorado Blue Spruce-- worth it?  (pics) Empty Colorado Blue Spruce-- worth it? (pics)

Post  madonnaswimmer Mon Apr 01, 2013 1:04 am

I'm a beginner-- I have 2 trees but they're not much to look at. Started Bonsai within the last year.

I found this Colorado Blue Spruce for $7 at the Home Depot. Figured it was cheap enough to take a risk. But I do have the option of returning it if the board decides it stinks!

I can't find a lot of info on this species and how well it might work as a Bonsai.

I was thinking to do an informal upright.

Here are some photos. There seems to at least be equal foliage around the tree with no huge gaps or missing branches, which is more than I can say for my other trees! You cannot tell much from the photo, but the trunk does at least have some element of taper, which again is more than I can say for at least one of my other trees.

Front (?):
Colorado Blue Spruce-- worth it?  (pics) A_fron10

Right Side (1/4 turn right):
Colorado Blue Spruce-- worth it?  (pics) B_righ10

Back:
Colorado Blue Spruce-- worth it?  (pics) C_back10

Left :
Colorado Blue Spruce-- worth it?  (pics) D_left11

So, is this worthwhile? Or should I return it back to the home depot?

madonnaswimmer

Back to top Go down

Colorado Blue Spruce-- worth it?  (pics) Empty Re: Colorado Blue Spruce-- worth it? (pics)

Post  Auballagh Mon Apr 01, 2013 1:56 am