Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

small Elm clump

+6
BrendanR
Oliver Muscio
Auballagh
marcus watts
JimLewis
Richard S
10 posters

Go down

small Elm clump Empty small Elm clump

Post  Richard S Tue Mar 05, 2013 9:34 pm

Hi folks

I'm fairly new to bonsai (couple of years) and very new to this forum so I thought that by way of and introduction I'd post a picture of my latest tree.

I realise that in this company a simple tree like this isn't going to set any pulses racing but I like it and I think it has some potential. Shouldn't prove too challenging for a relative novice like myself to develop either which is a bonus!

small Elm clump 4b5fd001-4376-4544-be77-ba43d392b063

For the record it's a Siberian Elm (Ulmus Pumila) that was field grown by a local bonsai nursery. In fact when I first spotted it about ten days ago it was still sitting in what appeared to be a plastc bucket with the rest of the pre bonsai/raw material. However, when I went back to buy it this weekend the owner had potted it up with intention of putting it out for sale in the spring (at approx twice the price).

To his credit, when I expressed my disapointment he offered me "the tree" at the original price although he did explain that I would also now have to buy the pot as well of course!

This was a shame as I've got a much nicer pot at home which I was going to use but I'm not complaining, it was still a very good deal.

As for future styling well that's pretty much been determined by the existing trunk chops/leaders and branch options but I'm happy with that. The tree does have a bit of nebari as well (obscured by the new soil in the photo) and really the only thing that I'm not entirely happy with is the straightness of the smallest and forward most trunks.