Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

New to Bonsai - 2 strategy questions

+3
Xavier de Lapeyre
KennedyMarx
ferndinho
7 posters

Go down

New to Bonsai - 2 strategy questions Empty New to Bonsai - 2 strategy questions

Post  ferndinho Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:54 pm

Hello all - I am new to bonsai and this forum and have found a wealth of information here already. So I thought I would get your opinions on how to move forward with two trees. These are not my only trees but both the species are new to me.

Tree 1 - Just bought this willow leaf fig (listed as Ficus Salicaria) from a nursery. It doesn't have any strong branches but lots of foliage. Also I would like to develop the trunk and nebari. How best to do accomplish all of this ( I know it doesn't happen over night)? I bought a bonsai pot (pictured) but after reading a bit more am unsure if it would be a good move to put it in this type of pot.

New to Bonsai - 2 strategy questions Camera12

New to Bonsai - 2 strategy questions Camera13

New to Bonsai - 2 strategy questions Camera14

Tree 2 - I've inherited a maple seedling (possibly red maple) from a roommate who left. I'm not sure how she grew it but it is about 3 feet tall. My question is how to best go about growing this into a bonsai (again I know this will take years but I'd really like to develop a tree from this stage). Do you you recommend chopping it right above the V in the trunk? If so could I use this cutting to propagate a new tree? Any other suggestions and insight are greatly appreciated.

New to Bonsai - 2 strategy questions Camera15

New to Bonsai - 2 strategy questions Camera16

ferndinho

Back to top Go down

New to Bonsai - 2 strategy questions Empty Re: New to Bonsai - 2 strategy questions

Post  KennedyMarx Mon Feb 25, 2013 7:01 am