Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Newbie with nursery stock Acer palmatum

+3
appalachianOwl
Patrick_G
wendolen
7 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Newbie with nursery stock Acer palmatum Empty Newbie with nursery stock Acer palmatum

Post  wendolen Thu Jan 17, 2013 7:24 pm

Hello all,

Having caught the bonsai bug, I am looking with new eyes at this Japanese maple I bought last summer and have yet to put in the ground. I'm new to inserting pictures, so forgive me if these go wrong...

Newbie with nursery stock Acer palmatum J97W3NEQqCre85DHONurXvE3vZEPPlvu9R7XnvkZghE?size=1280x960&size_mode=2

Newbie with nursery stock Acer palmatum OBud763R_2SWmaQSz35yMf51I4R48mnUArpLKTdVHTg?size=1280x960&size_mode=2

Newbie with nursery stock Acer palmatum 66Gb2GX8bxNyvBQnk0svi1zh5YYNHZaCaMXmbAqMK8E?size=1280x960&size_mode=2

I have become rather partial to the graceful first branch on the right in the first picture, though that was before I learned about wiring, so it's probably not as crucial to keep it as I was initially thinking. My intuition is to cut it here (and try to root the material that I cut off, because why not?), and go from there. Thoughts?

Newbie with nursery stock Acer palmatum Firstc12

wendolen

Back to top Go down

Newbie with nursery stock Acer palmatum Empty Re: Newbie with nursery stock Acer palmatum

Post  Patrick_G Thu Jan 17, 2013 7:56 pm

Looks like there's a pretty obvious graft there, I don't know if this is the best material.

Patrick_G

Back to top Go down

Newbie with nursery stock Acer palmatum Empty Re: Newbie with nursery stock Acer palmatum

Post  appalachianOwl Thu Jan 17, 2013 8:54 pm

you could air layer at the mark you've made, or perhaps a bit lower to get that bit of motion in the trunk, thus eliminateing the graft unioin. Lots to work with depending on what you're going for.

Newbie with nursery stock Acer palmatum Maplemaybe_zps967dfe55