Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Which Tools?

3 posters

Go down

Which Tools? Empty Which Tools?

Post  thefourthlady Wed Dec 26, 2012 7:36 pm

Hi, everyone...newbie here!
I've been researching Bonsai because it was something I've been interested in for years, but never got around to actually buying one. The main reason is, I live in the woods, have a very low house with large overhangs, so therefore, not a lot of natural sunlight gets into my house. Also, I live in south western PA and the winters are brutal, so when I go to work I turn my heat down to 54 degrees...see where I'm going with this? So, I didn't want to actually purchase a bonsai plant until I spoke with someone in the know to tell me which would be best with low light and could take cold temperatures. Well, my best friend knew I've been wanting a bonsai, so she bought me a plant for Christmas (gave it to me a few weeks early). It was actually a "money tree" which, from reading a little more about it, isn't acutally a bonsai, but it doesn't matter because within two weeks, it was almost dead - I'm thinking it was way too cold in my house for it. I took it back and exchanged it for a Juniper, which I was told isn't bothered by cold.

After all that....my question. I'm looking to buy the tools now and have no idea what I need and what are the best quality tools. I keep reading to stay away from the cheap ones, but I don't know what is good quality and what is priced high that I'm getting ripped off. Also, should I go with the beginners kit or buy individual tools? Do you need all the tools for all the plants or do you use certain tools for certain plants, but not for others? I eventually want to get more plants, but I want to make sure I don't kill this one first!

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Pam in PA

thefourthlady

Back to top Go down

Which Tools? Empty sorry - egg on my face!