Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

a very different Bougainsai

2 posters

Go down

a very different Bougainsai Empty a very different Bougainsai

Post  eddieperth Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:23 pm

Hello all!

I'm new to the IBC and new to bonsai. I've spent the last two months reading everything I can online and from my local library. My particular interest is in developing nursery finds and even more so in Australian natives. I'll probably save natives questions for the very excellent AusBonsai.com

I picked up this very interesting bougainvillea at a small nursery the other day. It was the only bougie there and had no label or anything....I wasn't even sure it was for sale. The manager took one look at it and said, 'ah, i'll take $3 for it.' haha!

a very different Bougainsai DT3Hvl

a very different Bougainsai TGvzGl

My wife and I have both talked about how much we love the way it looks right now, but of course, I know it won't stay this way.

I'd really like some styling advice for this guy! I've searched here and other sites for bougy advice, and most seems to focus on huge stumps or young cuttings...this one is different.

My first thought was how cool would it be if I could pull off a triple cascade! I know its a bit unconventional, but I reckon it would look nice.

So yeah, total newbie hoping for some styling tips. I'm in no hurry, so won't be offended if you tell me something like, 'keep it alive for two years and then work.'

cheers!

eddieperth

Back to top Go down

a very different Bougainsai Empty Re: a very different Bougainsai

Post  PeacefulAres Mon Nov 26, 2012 3:21 pm