Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Japanese bloodgood red maple from nursery stock

+5
leatherback
John Quinn
drgonzo
JimLewis
megid
9 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Japanese bloodgood red maple from nursery stock Empty Japanese bloodgood red maple from nursery stock

Post  megid Sun Nov 04, 2012 1:46 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to bonsai and recently started getting into the hobby. I've gotten a few books and have tried to read a lot of articles and forum posts, but I couldn't seem to find the information I was trying to find. I also tried to contact my local bonsai society, but their website is not working. So I hope that somewhere here can give me some direction!

I recently bought this from a local nursery. I tried to look for good nebari and branching. Again, I am very new to this, so I wasn't exactly sure what to look for. I would like to have a thicker trunk eventually and somehow miniaturize it maybe by air-layering. I'm not too sure how the health of the tree is though. I thought that the leaves were due to the winter season, but upon further research, it might be phytophthora. I would really appreciate any help I can get for this tree. I love the red maple and wish to continue with this. I initially bought a juniper "mallsai" and thought it would be a good idea to also start from nursery stock. Please tell me what you guys think!

Japanese bloodgood red maple from nursery stock Img_2011

Japanese bloodgood red maple from nursery stock Img_2012

Japanese bloodgood red maple from nursery stock Img_2013

megid

Back to top Go down

Japanese bloodgood red maple from nursery stock Empty Re: Japanese bloodgood red maple from nursery stock

Post  JimLewis Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:05 pm

First, there's no phytophthora wilt there. This is fall. You are in Ohio. I'm surprised it even HAS leaves.