Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Field Growing Which Trees?

+6
coh
JimLewis
Dave Murphy
Leo Schordje
MrFancyPlants
AboveBeyond
10 posters

Go down

Field Growing Which Trees? Empty Field Growing Which Trees?

Post  AboveBeyond Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:02 am

Does anyone have a list of trees that will do well in 6a? I want to start field growing trees in my backyard but I have no experience as to which trees would work. I can plant the trees in either full sun or shaded areas so sun requirement shouldn't be a problem.

How would tridents or maples fare here in 6a?

Thanks!

AboveBeyond

Back to top Go down

Field Growing Which Trees? Empty Re: Field Growing Which Trees?

Post  MrFancyPlants Tue Oct 02, 2012 4:56 am

I think that elms would do well in your area, and they are good beginner's trees. If you have a decent sized back yard I bet you could even find a few volunteers. I like to use "native" material because I know that it will do well in my climate. Of course some of these natives are invasive, but not a problem for bonsai. Look for material that has smaller leaves because these will look better as small to medium sized bonsai.
I'm sure there are some pines that thrive in your climate, but I think tridents would require some winter protection?

also, check out Brent Walston's site http://www.evergreengardenworks.com/articles.htm . He has some great articles that make so much sense. There is an article about developing trunks, which could be useful if you are doing some "field" development.

MrFancyPlants
MrFancyPlants

Back to top Go down

Post  Leo Schordje Tue Oct 02, 2012 7:27 am

Hi AboveBeyond
Most cultivars and from seed Japanese Maples would do well, Acer palmatum. I personally don't know if Trident maples are good for field growing by you. Here they need a little extra protection, but we are zone 5.