Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Dwarf Brush Cherry Backbud?

2 posters

Go down

Dwarf Brush Cherry Backbud?  Empty Dwarf Brush Cherry Backbud?

Post  thams1982 Sat Sep 29, 2012 10:19 pm

Hi All,

I recently picked up two Australian Brush Cherries (Eugenia myrtifolia) -- both are in new pots and are doing great. My situation is probably a simple one to fix, but I have limited experience with this tree species and I thought I would ask an experienced community.

As with trees that have been left to grow unrestricted, most of the growth is concentrated at the tips of the branches with intermittent leaves growing on some branches. My wish is to have the growth more concentrated toward the center of the trunk (read shortened limbs with ramification toward the center). In order to shorten the limbs, I will have to prune old wood considerably. I've already nipped the new growth to redirect the growth further in, but would cutting back to one or two leaf pairs on old wood be too much?

I understand that this can be done in stages -- wait for leaves to appear further in and then start cutting back. This would assure leaves on the limbs at all times. I'm just afraid to start cutting old wood without some advice.

Also, when should this be done? I've read some people say to prune this tree in spring, but I've also read that tropicals should be pruned in summer... Help! I appreciate any and all advice. I'm not looking for a quick fix; I plan to have these trees for many many years to come.

Thanks all,
Tom

thams1982

Back to top Go down

Dwarf Brush Cherry Backbud?  Empty Re: Dwarf Brush Cherry Backbud?

Post  0soyoung Sun Sep 30, 2012 12:22 am