Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

My willow(s)

5 posters

Go down

My willow(s) Empty My willow(s)

Post  EpicusMaximus Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:10 pm

I live in a new neighbourhood and there is a gorgeous willow across the street (probably 15-20 years old) on an undeveloped lot. My feeling is that by next spring it will be torn down. So, after hearing that willows were easy to root I went out and got some fresh cuttings off the tree. I'm new to this and ended up with about 5-6 cuttings so I tried to make them root in different mediums to see what would work best. Here are a few of them and how they are doing.

I put this small cutting in vermiculite which I water every day, it's been kept indoors and receives indirect sunlight as well as light from a 6500k CFL. It's been about 10 days and I can tell it has rooted because the cutting feels anchored in. It's also started producing new growth. It was taken from a fresh young green branch growing off the base of the tree.

My willow(s) Verm_110

My willow(s) Verm_210

My willow(s) Verm_310

My willow(s) Verm_410

My willow(s) Verm_510

I also had 3 thinner cuttings that I decided to put directly in water. They have been sitting outside on the side of the house in a simple plastic water bottle. After 10 days this is how they are doing. I actually am using too much water so when/if I pot them, I'll have to remove some of the lower portion that rooted.

My willow(s) Pot10

My willow(s) Pot_110

My willow(s) Pot_210

My willow(s) Pot_310

I also have a larger cutting that's been in a mix of potting soil, vermiculite and perlite outside. I believe it has also rooted because it feels anchored to the soil. However, it is not displaying the same signs as the cuttings I've posted above. I'll post pics eventually, it was too rainy last night.