Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Refrigerator dormancy?

+6
Chass
Khaimraj Seepersad
marcus watts
Treedwarfer
0soyoung
BonsaiIssues
10 posters

Go down

Refrigerator dormancy? Empty Refrigerator dormancy?

Post  BonsaiIssues Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:48 am

So living in an apartment without a balcony I've been growing my elm under t8 lighting for about 6 months now, it's been doing great but I'm worried about giving it a dormancy period. I don't have access to a basement or garage but I do have an empty mini fridge, I've read in several places online this is a option but nobody ever goes into detail on how to go about it. Does anyone have any experience with this or suggestions? how cold for how long? what months to attempt this? watering, light, etc. Any advice or link to somewhere I could read about this would be great, thanks.

BonsaiIssues

Back to top Go down

Refrigerator dormancy? Empty Re: Refrigerator dormancy?

Post  0soyoung Thu Aug 30, 2012 5:12 am

An intriguing idea! I've only refrigerated trees in seed form. A general rule of thumb for temperate trees is 1000 hours (6 weeks) below 40F.

I'm guessing, though, that a tree will also need some light for a few hours a day (say, 8 hours a day). Many trees do strange things when etiolated (kept in the dark). IIRC some figs will sprout adventitious roots, for example.

See evergreengardenworks.com
0soyoung
0soyoung

Back to top Go down

Post  Treedwarfer Thu Aug 30, 2012 5:56 am