Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Great Deal On A Ficus (Or Is It?)

5 posters

Go down

Great Deal On A Ficus (Or Is It?) Empty Great Deal On A Ficus (Or Is It?)

Post  nyxm Sat Aug 11, 2012 3:13 am

Ok, I am pretty new to gardening, and bonsai in particular. But I do know enough to realize that though this tree may look awesome, it is probably not the healthiest tree available (especially since I found it at the local Wally-World). That being said, the thing was only $10, so how could I pass it up? Anyways, here are some pictures to show it off. Also, I am really restraining myself from doing any pruning on this plant before I have an idea of how I want it to look and whether or not it should be repotted before pruning. It does not seem to be root bound, but the roots, soil, and all easily lift out of the pot. The pot is only about 4" tall, and from soil to top of plant is about 16 - 18". Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Great Deal On A Ficus (Or Is It?) Ficuso10
This is a picture to give an impression of the general size and age of the tree

Great Deal On A Ficus (Or Is It?) Ficusr10
Some nice aerial roots

Great Deal On A Ficus (Or Is It?) Ficuss10
This is the only part of the tree that worries me. You can see the scars from wiring (Why anyone would wire it in a circle the way they did is beyond me.), and the wire that is actually still in the scars. Should this wire be removed, and if so, how would I go about doing it?

Any suggestions for the training/first pruning would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

nyxm

Back to top Go down

Great Deal On A Ficus (Or Is It?) Empty Re: Great Deal On A Ficus (Or Is It?)

Post  Ryan Sat Aug 11, 2012 3:19 am