Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Thuja occidentalis in need of love

5 posters

Go down

Thuja occidentalis in need of love Empty Thuja occidentalis in need of love

Post  Guest Mon Jul 02, 2012 6:03 pm

Hi,

I'm relatively new to bonsai and have been given a few trees as gifts to start on, most of them as "in progress' trees (still very unformed), but my thuja is more of an heirloom tree and while I think I've been taking good care of it the tree seems to be ailing and I'm not sure what I may be doing wrong. I check the tree regularly for dampness of the soil (it's in soil, not a granular composition) and water it if the top of the soil seems to be drying out (until I can see water dripping out the holes in the pot). I've fed it some 10-15-10 (Schultz) a couple of times since March but I have not given it any water/vinegar mix (which was one of the recommendations from the 30+ year experienced individual who gave me the trees) since bringing it out in the spring.

A couple of the branches have had all the fronds and leaves dry up and fall off, but there were some green fronds up until a few days ago (hopefully the branches aren't dead).

The tree just today was moved into a spot where it will get full sun (zone 5) from about 9 til at least noon, then be in shade for the rest of the day - previously it was in a spot that got full sun from about 9 until 3 or 4pm.

I'll include a couple of pictures of the tree in its current state. Any suggestions on where I might be able to change or increase its care to get it to flourish some more?

Thuja occidentalis in need of love 100_6417

Thuja occidentalis in need of love 100_6418

Thuja occidentalis in need of love 100_6419 This is a closeup of the branches that are dying/dead. They've also got a small green spore/pod growth on thin filaments sticking off of them that I posted about in the pests/diseases section as well.