Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

potting soil or substrate

4 posters

Go down

potting soil or substrate Empty potting soil or substrate

Post  ericksond Fri Jun 01, 2012 1:30 am

I am a newbie. At the moment I am reading a lot of books and articles to get as much information as I could. I got two pre-bonsai plants from the nursery that I want to practice with. Please note that these plants are not even close to being a bonsai candidate - weak nebari and small trunk. I have read that it is a bad idea to re-pot it into bonsai pots. Instead, I want to re-pot them in shallow plastic basins to increase root growth. I know I am better off planting them in the ground but I do not have space for that.

My question is if I re-pot them in shallow basins, should I use a potting soil mix or use the suggested bonsai substrate mixes?

I am from Florida and I read an article that the following mix would work:

1/3 Turface MVP or AllSports sifted
1/3 Fafard Soil conditioner
1/3 Red Lava Rock

Should I use this mix or should I stick with potting soil? Thank you for your help in advance.

Last edited by ericksond on Fri Jun 01, 2012 2:47 am; edited 1 time in total

ericksond

Back to top Go down

potting soil or substrate Empty Re: potting soil or substrate

Post  ericksond Fri Jun 01, 2012 2:46 am

Seems like most of the articles I read says that bonsai soil is not potting soil. I guess i answered my own question. I wish there is a way to delete a post. Embarassed

ericksond

Back to top Go down

Post  JimLewis Fri Jun 01, 2012 12:35 pm

I wish there is a way to delete a post.

Well, I can't see what you see on your screen, but up at the top of the post you should see "Quote" and "Edit" on the upper right side. Near them there should be a small "x". That should delete YOUR posts.
JimLewis
JimLewis

Back to top Go down

Post  Billy M. Rhodes Fri Jun 01, 2012 1:35 pm