Internet Bonsai Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Shade Cloth

+9
Bbarker63
Andre Beaurain
drgonzo
coh
lordy
FrankP999
bonsaisr
Billy M. Rhodes
jake4bonsai
13 posters

Go down

Shade Cloth Empty Shade Cloth

Post  jake4bonsai Wed May 02, 2012 11:37 pm

Hi all! I am new to using shade cloth, can someone help me with wich plants should be protected and what percentage of shade cloth should be used? The only shade cloth i have access to is 75%, that seems a bit dark to me but again ive never used it before either. Too dark may be better than burnt plants is the way im looking at the situation. Any advice would be fantastic! Thank you to anyone that may be of help, Jake
jake4bonsai
jake4bonsai

Back to top Go down

Shade Cloth Empty Re: Shade Cloth

Post  Billy M. Rhodes Thu May 03, 2012 1:40 am

I only use shade cloth on my greenhouse and only to protect orchids. Our Bonsai can take full sun.
Billy M. Rhodes
Billy M. Rhodes

Back to top Go down

Post  bonsaisr Thu May 03, 2012 2:58 am

You don't need shade cloth for bonsai in southern Ohio. For the few trees that are susceptible to sunburn, put them out in the sun very slowly in the spring, & use Dyna Gro Pro-TeKt. You can get this from the hydroponics store.
Iris
bonsaisr
bonsaisr

Back to top Go down

Post  FrankP999 Thu May 03, 2012 1:16 pm

Iris, How often do you use Pro-Tekt?

FrankP999

Back to top Go down

Post  lordy Thu May 03, 2012 1:41 pm